Community Council Areas in Scotland

royal_mile_rooftopsThe breakdown of Community Councils in Scotland may appear to quite confusing at first, but it is actually quite simple. Community Councils are formed in Community Council Areas. Community Council Areas then form part of a Council Area (this will be the town or city). Community councils cover virtually all of Scotland, though not all Community Council Areas have a Community Council, as it is up to the community to form one. Community Councils are provided for in local authority schemes.

The first Scottish Community Councils were formed in 1976, under the Local Government Act 1973. The Local Government Act 1994 abolished the regional and district councils set up under the two-tier system of the previous Act. The new Act created unitary councils, and transferred the responsibility of the regional and district councils for community council schemes to these new unitary councils.

The ASCC – Association for (Scottish Community Councils) was set up in 1994 when the councils were reorganised from district and regional to unitary.

Below is a list of all the Council Areas (in alphabetical order) without decentralised Community Council Areas (within the Council Areas).

Aberdeen City



Dundee City

East Ayrshire

East Dunbartonshire

East Lothian

East Renfrewshire

City of Edinburgh






North Ayrshire

North Lanarkshire


Perth and Kinross


Scottish Borders


South Ayrshire


West Dunbartonshire

West Lothian

Below is a list of all the Council Areas (in alphabetical order) that also have decentralised Community Council Areas (within the Council Areas).


  • Banff and Buchan
  • Buchan
  • Formartine
  • Garioch
  • Kincardine and Mearns
  • Marr

Argyll and Bute

  • Bute and Cowal
  • Helensburgh and Lomond
  • Mid Argyll, Kintyre and Islay
  • Oban, Lorn and the Isles

Dumfries and Galloway

  • Annandale and Eskdale
  • Nithsdale
  • Dumfries and Lower Nithsdale
  • Upper Nithsdale
  • Stewartry
  • Wigtown

Na h-Eileanan Siar

  • Lewis
  • Harris
  • Uist
  • Barra

Glasgow City


  • Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
  • Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
  • Ross, Skye and Lochaber

South Lanarkshire

  • Cambuslang / Rutherglen
  • Clydesdale
  • East Kilbride
  • Hamilton